CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION NEW DELHI

Petition No. 21/2004

Coram

- 1. Dr. Pramod Deo, Chairperson
- 2. Shri S.Jayaraman, Member
- 3. Shri V.S.Verma, Member
- 4. Shri M. Deena Dayalan, Member

DATE OF ORDER: 20.10.2010

In the matter of

Surrender of Inter-State trading licence granted to DLF Power Ltd., Gurgaon.

And in the matter of

DLF Power Ltd., Gurgaon.

Applicant

ORDER

By order dated 2.11.2004, DLF Power Ltd. (DLF) was granted trading licence for Category `C`. Subsequently, based on the request of the licensee, licence granted was downgraded from Category `C` to Category `A` with effect from 1.4.2005. Consequent to the notification of the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (Procedure, Terms and Conditions for grant of inter-State trading licence and other related matters) Regulations, 2009 (the 2009 regulations), the licence stands recategorised as category `III`. 2. DLF vide its letter dated 31.5.2010 has proposed to surrender the trading licence. DLF has submitted that licence issued has never been utilized since its date of issuance. He further submitted that its management has decided not to renew the licence for the year 2010-11 and henceforth decided to surrender the said licence. DLF has requested to accept the same and pass an appropriate order so that company shall not have any liability of payment of licence fee in future.

3. The regulation 14 (2) of the 2009 regulations provide for cancellation of trading licence on the request of licensee, which is extracted as under:

"(2) When the licensee makes an application for revocation of the licence and the Commission is satisfied that such revocation of licence shall not prejudicially affect the public interest, the Commission may revoke his licence, on such terms and conditions as it thinks fit."

4. In our view, revocation of licence of DLF will not be detrimental to public interest and accordingly, we direct that the licence granted to DLF shall stands revoked from the date of issue of the order.

sd/-	sd/-	sd/-	sd/-
(M.DEENA DAYALAN)	(V.S.VERMA)	(S.JAYARAMAN)	(Dr. PRAMOD DEO)
MEMBER	MEMBER	MEMBER	CHAIRPERSON