CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION NEW DELHI

Petition No. SM/007/2014

Coram:
Shri Gireesh B.Pradhan, Chairperson
Shri M. Deena Dayalan, Member
Shri A.K.Singhal, Member

Date of order: 25.4.2014

In the matter of

Non-Compliance of Commission's direction dated 26.9.2012 in Petition No.168/MP/2011.

And In the matter of:

Northern Region

- SLDC, Delhi Transco Ltd.,
 SLDC Building, 2nd Floor,
 33 Kv sub-station, Minto Road
 New Delhi -110002
- Aravali Power Company Ltd.
 NTPC Bhawan, Scope Complex,
 7 Institutional Area, Lodhi Road, New Delhi110 003
- SLDC, Power Development Deptt.,
 SLDC Building, Narwalbala,
 Gladini, Jammu 180016.
- THDC India Limited
 Ganga Bhawan, Pragatipuram, Bypass Road,
 Rishikesh- 249201.
- AD Hydro Electric Power Limited V.P.O. Prini Manali Dist. Kullu H.P. 175143
- 6. Lanco Budhil Hydro Electric Project

Plot no. 397, Phase-III Udyog Vihar ,Gurgaon- 122016

7. Malana Hydro Electric Power Ltd. Bhilwara Tower, A-12 Sector-1, Noida- 201301

Western Region

- Electricity Department,
 Government of Goa, Vidyut Bhawan, Pananji
 Goa- 403001
- 9. Electricity Department, Dadar Nagar Haveli, U.T. Silvassa -396230
- Electricity Department,
 Daman and Diu, Power House Building 2nd floor,
 Daman -396210.

Eastern Region

- Energy and Power Deptt.,
 Govt. of Sikkim,
 Kazi Road, Gangtok -737101
- 12. Jharkhand State Electricity Board ULDC, Kusai Colony, Ranchi- 834002
- Maithon Power Limited
 MA-5, Gogna Colony, PO- Maithon Dam,
 District- Dhanbad, Jharkhand- 828207.

Southern Region

14. Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Ltd., Bangalore -560009

Northern Eastern Region

Tripura State Electricity Corporation Ltd.,
 Bidhut Bhavan,
 Banamalipur, Agartala, Tripura

- 16. Department of Power,Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh,Itanagar 791111
- Department of Power and Electricity, Govt. of Mizoram, Aizwal -796001
- Department of Power,
 Govt. of Nagaland,
 Kohima -797001
- Department of Power,
 Govt. of Manipur,
 Imphal -795001

ORDER

Regulation 4.6.2 of the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (Indian Electricity Grid Code) Regulations, 2010 (Grid Code) which mandates the provision of telemetry system provides as under:

- "4.6.2. Reliable and efficient speech and data communication systems shall be provided to facilitate necessary communication and data exchange, and supervision/ control of the grid by the RLDC, under normal and abnormal conditions. All Users, STUs and CTU shall provide Systems to telemeter power system parameter such as flow, voltage and status of switches/transformer taps etc. in line with interface requirements and other guideline made available by RLDC. The associated communication system to facilitate data flow up to appropriate data collection point on CTU's system shall also be established by the concerned User or STU as specified by CTU in the Connection Agreement. All Users/STUs in coordination with CTU shall provide the required facilities at their respective ends as specified in the Connection Agreement."
- 2. The Commission vide order dated 19.12.2013 in Petition No. 56/SM/2013 had directed as under:

- "17. We are at pains to observe that despite the Commission's sustained initiative for the implementation of the statutory mandate, the progress achieved is far from satisfactory. We are constrained to place on record that the overall scenario is very precarious. Accordingly, we issue the following directions:
 - (a) POWERGRID shall complete the telemetry on all its sub-stations within six months of the issue of order failing which action under Section 142 of the Act may be initiated. After six months, NLDC/ RLDC shall submit status report in this regard.
 - (b) Notice under section 142 of the Electricity Act, 2003 be issued against utilities which have not responded to NLDC as contained in the **Annexure** to this order."
- 3. Meanwhile, NHPC Ltd., Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited, Tamil Nadu Transmission Corporation Limited, PGCIL, NTPC Ltd., Aravli Power Corporation Ltd. and Power and Electricity Department, Govt. of Mizoram (Mizoram) have filed their submissions.
- 4. The respondents, namely, Delhi Transco Ltd., Aravali Power company Ltd., SLDC, Power Development Department, Jammu, THDC India Ltd., AD Hydro Electric Power Ltd., Lanco Budhil Electric Project, Malana Hydro Electric Power Ltd., Electricity Deptt. Govt of Goa, Electricity Deptt., Dadar Nagar Haveli, Electricity Deptt., Daman and Diu, Energy and Power Deptt., Govt of Sikkim, Jharkhand State Electricity Board, Maithon Power Ltd., Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Ltd., Tripura State Electricity Corporation Ltd., Deptt. of Power, Govt of Arunachal Pradesh, Deptt. of Power and Electricity, Govt. of Mizoram, Deptt. of Power, Govt. of Nagaland and Deptt. of Power, Govt. of Manipur have not responded to NLDC with the status report regarding implementation of the telemetry. In the

light of our decision in order dated 19.12.2013, we direct these respondents to show cause, latest by 15.5.2014, as to why action under Section 142 of the Electricity Act, 2003 should not be initiated against them for non-compliance with the directions of NLDC and the Commission's order dated 26.9.2012 in Petition No. 168/MP/2011.

- 5. Matter shall be listed for hearing on 22.5.2014.
- 6. Officer-in-charge of NLDC and all RLDCs or their representatives shall assist the Commission in the proceedings.

Sd/- sd/- sd/-

(A.K.Singhal) (M Deena Dayalan) (Gireesh B.Pradhan)
Member Member Chairperson