CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION New Delhi

Petition No. 25/MP/2022

Subject	:	Petition under Section 79 of the Electricity Act, 2003 read with Regulation 111 and 113 of the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (Conduct of Business) Regulations, 1999 seeking issuance of appropriate directions to the Respondent to include the yearly transmission charges as determined by APERC vide order dated 7.7.2021 in the PoC transmission charges for the billing period of 2015-16, 2016-17 and 2020- 21 as per the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (Sharing of Transmission Charges and Losses) Regulations, 2010.
Date of Hearing	:	26.7.2023
Coram	:	Shri Jishnu Barua, Chairperson Shri I. S. Jha, Member Shri Arun Goyal, Member Shri P. K. Singh, Member
Petitioner	:	Transmission Corporation of Andhra Pradesh Limited (AP TRANSCO)
Respondents	:	Power System Operation Corporation Limited (POSOCO) & Anr.
Parties present	:	Shri Sidhant Kumar, Advocate, APTRANSCO Ms. Manya Chandok, Advocate, APTRANSCO Shri Yogeshwar, CTUIL Shri Alok Mishra, NLDC

Record of Proceedings

Learned counsel for the Petitioner submitted that the instant petition is filed for issuing directions to POSOCO to include the yearly transmission charges determined by the Andhra Pradesh Electricity Regulatory Commission (APERC) for the intra-State transmission lines (non-ISTS lines) owned by the Petitioner, vide order dated 7.7.2021, in the common pool for the billing periods 2015-16, 2016-17, and 2020-2021. He submitted that the Petitioner has submitted the details regarding the delay in approaching NLDC vide affidavit dated 5.6.2023, which was due to the delay in getting the SRPC certification.



2. The Commission directed the Petitioner to implead SRPC and SRLDC in the matter, file the amended "Memo of Parties" on an affidavit by 8.8.2023 and serve a copy of the petition on them. The Commission further directed the Petitioner to furnish the following information on an affidavit by 14.8.2023 with an advance copy to the Respondents:

- i. The reason for the delay in approaching (on 25.4.2019) the SRPC for certification of non-ISTS lines carrying inter-State power for the years 2014-15, 2015-16, and 2016-17.
- ii. Clarify whether the meters owned/ installed by the Petitioner are ABT meters, as per the Central Electricity Authority (Installation and Operation of Meters) Regulations, 2006, under the control area of RLDC.

3. The Commission directed SRPC and the SLDC to appear before the Commission on the next date of hearing.

4. The Commission further directed POSOCO, CTUIL, and SRPC to provide the following information on an affidavit by 14.8.2023 with an advance copy to other parties:

- i. POSOCO to provide the methodology followed by the RPCs for certification of non-ISTS lines carrying inter-State power and confirm whether the methodology adopted by the SRPC is similar to the other RPCs.
- ii. CTUIL to submit their analysis on the use of such non-ISTS lines in transmitting inter-state power vis-a-vis the adequacy of the inter-state system.
- iii. SRPC had issued certification on 19.6.2017 which was only for the year 2017-18 and not for the period 2014-17. SRPC is directed to clarify what has changed between February, 2017 (as per the methodology approved by SRPC during 31st SRPC meeting held on 25.2.2017) and January, 2020, when SRPC did not issue the Certification of non-ISTS lines carrying inter-State power for the years 2014-15, 2015-16, and 2016-17 in June, 2017 but certified for such periods vide letter 23.1.2020, which SRPC had previously specifically denied vide letter dated 13.5.2019.

5. The Commission directed the Respondents to file their reply on an affidavit by 28.8.2023, with an advance copy to the Petitioner, and the Petitioner to file its rejoinder, if any, by 11.9.2023. The Commission further observed that no request for an extension of time will be entertained and directed the parties to strictly comply with the above directions within the specified timeline.



6. The Petition shall be listed for further hearing along with Petition No. 330/TT/2022 on 29.9.2023.

By order of the Commission

sd/-(V. Sreenivas) Joint Chief (Law)

