# CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION NEW DELHI

Petition No. 96/MP/2021

Coram: Shri Jishnu Barua, Chairperson Shri I.S. Jha, Member Shri Arun Goyal, Member Shri P.K.Singh, Member

Date of Order: 27th May, 2023

#### In the matter of

Petition under Sections 79 and 142 of the Electricity Act, 2003 read with Regulation 111, 113 and 119 of the Conduct of Business Regulations, 1999 for execution of Order dated 8.11.2019 passed by the Commission and directions and initiation of appropriate action against the Respondent no. 1 to 3 for non-compliance of the directions issued under order dated 8.11.2019 in Petition No. 17/MP/2018.

# And In the matter of

NTPC Vidyut Vitaran Nigam Limited, Core-7, SCOPE Complex, Institutional Area, Lodhi Road. New Delhi-110 003

-Petitioner

#### **Versus**

## 1. Ajmer Vidyut Vitaran Nigam Limited,

Through its Managing Director, Hathi Bhata, Jaipur Road, Ajmer – 305 001

### 2. Jaipur Vidyut Vitaran Nigam Limited,

Through its Managing Director, Vidyut Bhawan, Janpath, Jaipur – 302 005

### 3. Jodhpur Vidyut Vitaran Nigam Limited,

Through its Managing Director, New Power House, Industrial Area, Jodhpur – 342 003

#### 4. Union of India,

Through the Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, Block No. 14, CGO Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi – 110 003

## 5. Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Prasaran Nigam Limited

Through its Managing Director, Vidyut Bhawan, Janpath, Jaipur- 302005.

Respondents

### **Parties present:**

Ms. Anushree Burdhan, Advocate for the Petitioner

Ms. Subha Kapoor, Advocate for the Petitioner

Shri Anand K. Ganesan, Advocate for the Rajasthan Discoms

Shri Amal Nair, Advocate for the Rajasthan Discoms

Ms. Shivani Verma, Advocate for the Rajasthan Discoms

Ms. Kriti Soni, Advocate for the Rajasthan Discoms

### <u>ORDER</u>

The Petitioner, NTPC Vidyut Vitaran Nigam Limited (NVVN), has filed the present Petition for execution of the Commission's order dated 8.11.2019 in Petition No. 17/MP/2018 and initiation of appropriate proceedings under Section 142 of the Electricity Act, 2003 against the Respondents 1 to 3 for non-compliance of the directions issued under the aforesaid order dated 8.11.2019. The Petitioner has made the following prayers:

- "(a) Admit the Petition and enforce/execute the Order dated 8.11.2019 passed in Petition no. 17/MP/2018;
- (b) Direct the Respondent no. 1 to 3, Rajasthan Discoms to comply with Order dated 8.11.2019 and pay the amount of Rs 265.19 crores as per the statement attached as **Annexure C**. in terms of the Order dated 8.11.2019 along-with late payment surcharge for the period from the 1.3.2021 till full payment and liquidation of the dues;
- (c) Direct the Respondent no. 1 to 3, Rajasthan Discoms and its Directors to disclose on affidavit the status of all the assets (owned, possessed, controlled etc.) by Rajasthan Discoms to enable the Hon'ble Commission to pass further orders in this execution;
- (d) Initiate the proceedings against the Rajasthan Discoms under Section 142 of the Electricity Act, 2003 for non-compliance of the Order dated 8.11.2019;

(e)Pass such other Order(s) and this Commission may deem just and proper in the circumstances of the case."

- 2. The matter was heard on 25.5.2023. During the course of hearing, the learned counsel for the Petitioner submitted that the Respondents have paid outstanding dues of bundled power supplied to Distribution Company of Rajasthan (Rajasthan Discoms). Accordingly, the Petition may be disposed of without prejudice to the order in Appeal filed by the Rajasthan Discoms before Appellate Tribunal for Electricity.
- 3. The learned counsel appearing on behalf of the Rajasthan Discoms handed over the copy of the Minutes of Meeting held between RUVNL and NVVN on 25.1.2023 regarding payment arrangement of outstanding dues and endorsed the submission made by the learned counsel for the Petitioner.
- 4. Considering the submissions of the learned counsel for the parties, the Petition No. 96/MP/2021 is disposed of.

Sd/- sd/- sd/- sd/- (P.K.Singh) (Arun Goyal) (I.S. Jha) (Jishnu Barua) Member Member Chairperson