# CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION New Delhi

### Petition No. 173/TT/2021 along with IA No. 92/IA/2023

Subject: Petition for transmission tariff for the 2019-24 tariff period for

Asset-1: ±800 kV 1500 MW (Pole-II) HVDC terminals each at Raigarh (HVDC Station) & Pugalur (HVDC Station) and Asset-2: ±800 kV 1500 MW (PoleIII) HVDC terminals each at Raigarh (HVDC Station) & Pugalur (HVDC Station) under "HVDC Bipole link between Western Region (Raigarh, Chattisgarh) and Southern Region (Pugalur, Tamil Nadu)-North Trichur (Kerala)-Scheme 1: Raigarh-Pugalur 6000MW HVDC System" in the

Southern Regional grid.

Petitioner : Power Grid Corporation of India Limited

Respondents: Tamil Nadu Generation and Distribution Corporation Limited

and 23 others

#### Petition No. 242/TT/2021 along with IA No. 91/IA/2023

**Subject**: Petition for transmission tariff for the 2019-24 tariff period for

Asset-1: ±800kV 1500 MW (Pole-IV) HVDC terminals each at Raigarh (HVDC Station) & Pugalur (HVDC Station) under "HVDC Bipole link between the Western Region (Raigarh, Chattisgarh) and the Southern Region (Pugalur, Tamil Nadu) - North Trichur (Kerala)-Scheme 1: Raigarh-Pugalur 6000 MW

HVDC System" in the Southern Regional grid.

Date of Hearing : 29.4.2024

**Coram**: Shri Jishnu Barua, Chairperson

Shri Arun Goyal, Member

**Petitioner**: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited

Respondents : Tamil Nadu Generation and Distribution Corporation Limited

and 23 others

Parties Present : Ms. Swapna Seshadri, Advocate, PGCIL

Shri Utkarsh Singh, Advocate, PGCIL

Ms. Sneha, Advocate, PGCIL

Shri Prabhas Bajaj, Advocate, KSEBL Shri Priyanshu Tyagi, Advocate, KSEBL Shri S. Vallinayagam, Advocate, TANGEDCO

Ms. Suparna Srivastava, Advocate, CTUIL Shri Tushar Mathur, Advocate, CTUIL

Ms. Ekssha Kashyap, Advocate, AP Discoms



Ms. Manyaa Chandok, Advocate, AP Discoms

Shri Mohit Mudgal, Advocate, BRPL and BYPL

Shri Sachin Dubey, Advocate, BRPL and BYPL

Shri Mohit Jain, , Advocate, BRPL and BYPL

Shri Prabhas Bajaj, Advocate, KSEBL

Shri Priyanshu Tyagi, Advocate, KSEBL

Shri Mohd. Mohsin, PGCIL

Shri Arjun Malhotra, PGCIL

Shri Zafrul Hasan, PGCIL

Shri Angaro Naresh Kumar, PGCIL

Shri M. Sethuraman

Ms. Megha Bajpai, BRPL and BYPL

Shri Sameer Singh, BRPL and BYPL

## **Record of Proceedings**

The Petition No. 173/TT/2021 and Petition No. 242/TT/2021 are taken up on remand from APTEL. The issues involved in these petitions are similar, so they were taken up together. The IA No. 92/IA/2023 and IA No. 91/IA/2023 are filed by the Petitioner in Petition No. 173/TT/2021 and Petition No. 242/TT/2021, respectively seeking directions to the Respondents to not make any unilateral adjustments of the transmission charges pending adjudication of the main petitions in terms of the APTEL's orders dated 3.10.2023 in Appeal Nos. 775 and 776 of 2023.

- 2. The learned counsel for the Petitioner submitted that TANGEDCO has made additional submissions vide affidavit dated 28.3.2024 and the Petitioner has also filed the rejoinder to these submissions of TANGEDCO as per the liberty granted by the Commission vide ROP dated 18.3.2024. The issues involved in these petitions have already been decided by the Commission in order dated 30.10.2023 in Petition No. 685/TT/2020 and therefore, these matters may be disposed of in accordance with the order dated 30.10.2023.
- 3. Learned counsel for TANGEDCO sought another hearing in these matters. This was opposed by learned counsel of the Petitioner on the ground that no bills are raised on the beneficiaries by the CTUIL since remand order of APTEL and hence no payment has been made after the order of the Commission in Petition No. 173/TT/2021 and Petition No. 242/TT/2021 have been set aside. The amount to be paid to the Petitioner has gone up to ₹450 crore.
- 4. Taking into consideration the request of TANGEDCO, the Commission adjourned the matter. The Commission further observed that no further requests for adjournment will be considered.
- 5. The matter will be listed for the final hearing on 7.6.2024.

#### By order of the Commission

sd/-

(V. Sreenivas)

Joint Chief (Law)

